



## Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) National 2020 Virtual Annual General Meeting (AGM) Minutes September 24<sup>th</sup>, 2020 | 1:00 – 2:00 pm ET

### 1. WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER, CLARIFICATION OF VOTING ON MOTIONS

Joy Bacon, Chair of the CMHA National Board of Directors, welcomed all to the 102<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting.

A quorum of 73 members holding 128 votes being present virtually and members having duly received notice of the meeting, Joy Bacon declared the meeting to be regularly constituted and called the meeting to order at 1:18 pm. She explained the voting process for motions and advised that only members of the National Corporation can vote at the AGM. Given the complexity of the virtual nature of this meeting, Motion and Seconders have already pre-determined. She stated that there would be opportunity to speak should anyone have questions or concerns.

## 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was provided to members electronically.

Motion 1: Susan Grohn / Kevin McNamara

That the agenda of the September 24<sup>th</sup>, 2021 AGM of the Corporation be approved as presented.

Carried.

### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 22, 2019

Motion 2: Kevin McNamara / Karen Hetherington

That the membership accept the minutes of the 101<sup>st</sup> AGM of the Corporation as presented.

Carried.

### 4. CHAIR'S REPORT – Joy Bacon

Joy Bacon presented the Chair's report.





## 5. NATIONAL CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S REPORT – Margaret Eaton

Margaret Eaton presented the CEO's report. Due to technical difficulties, Margaret was unable to present her report and this item was moved to later in the meeting.

Joy Bacon then introduced Susan Grohn, Treasurer, to present the 2020 financial report.

#### 6. AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, APPOINTMENT OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT-Susan Grohn, Treasurer

Susan Grohn presented the 2019-2020 audited financial statements and auditor's report.

Motion 3: Karen Hetherington / Kevin McNamara

That the financial statements and auditor's report for the year ending March 31, 2020 be accepted as presented

Carried.

Motion 4: Susan Grohn / Karen Hetherington

That the Finance Committee conduct a competitive procurement process to recommend a suitable firm to conduct the fiscal 2021 audit, to be approved by the CMHA National Board.

Carried.

### 7. OVERVIEW OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS ELECTION PROCESS

Karen Hetherington, CMHA National Vice-Chair, provided an overview of the Board composition and the election process.

Motion 5: Karen Hetherington / Kevin McNamara

- <u>Divisional Representatives -- New Board Members</u> Motion: That Ross Manning (AB), Dave DeLong (BC), Amanda O'Sullivan (NB), Jasmine Beriault (SK), and Melissa Wood (YK) be elected to the National Board of Directors for a two-year term.
- <u>Re-election of Divisional Representatives</u> Motion: That Reid Hartry, MB (2 years); Kevin McNamara, NS (1 year); and Karen Hetherington, QC (2 years) be re-elected to the National Board in accordance with the period set forth by the Division.
- <u>NCPLE Representative</u> Motion: That Leora Simon be elected to the National Board of Directors for a one-year term.
- Directors-at-large



Association canadienne pour la santé mentale *La santé mentale pour tous* 



Motion: That Leah Napier be elected to the National Board of Directors for a three-year term

Carried.

# 8. ELECTION OF THE BOARD

Karen Hetherington introduced the full 2019-20 National Board to members present at the Annual General Meeting. The following is a full list of 2020-21 Board members:

# CMHA National Board 2020-2021 Conseil d'administration national de l'ACSM 2020-2021 Karen Hetherington, Amanda O'Sullivan, Kevin McNamara, Aileen McGinty Divisional Representative- QC Divisional Representative - NB Director at Large (NS) Divisional Representative -NS Dave DeLong, Divisional Representative - BC Greg Radu, Divisional Representative – NL Ginette Poulin Jasmine Beriault, Director at Large (MB) Divisional Representative -SK Ross Manning, Michael Lewkin, Reid Hartry, Leah Napier Divisional Representative - AB Divisional Representative - ON Divisional Representative - MB Director at Large (ON) Leora Simon, Melissa Wood, NCPLE Representative (QC) Divisional Representative - YK





Margaret Eaton, the National CEO, completed her presentation on the results of the last year.

#### 9. THANK YOU TO OUTGOING BOARD MEMBERS ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS/CLOSING

Joy Bacon also acknowledged the departing Board members (Susan Grohn, Louis Sorin, Nathan Schultz, Bill Bone, Peter Csiszar, Treena Smith, and Ken Reddig) and thanked them for their commitment and dedication.

#### 10. ADJOURNMENT

Motion 6: Kevin McNamara / Susan Grohn

That the 2020 CMHA National Annual General Meeting be adjourned.

Carried.